Lingerie for Kids— Have We Gone Too Far?


One thing the fashion industry has no shortage of, other than nasty cat fights, of course…is controversy.

Particularly in recent times, there seems to be a real influx of controversial images, designs,designers,fabrics and so on and so on. The list seems never-ending, but I suppose it means people are watching, so I think it’s a good thing.

I recently discovered  French clothing line that offers lingerie for kids…and I mean…KIDS.

Even if the materials aren't "suggestive" this pose sure is..

The line, called, Jours Apres Lunes is targeted at children ages 4-12. In an interview with Fashionista online, the French creator herself said, ” All I wanted to do was offer underwear that is soft and pleasant to wear,” adding that the materials “have no vulgar connotation: they are totally opaque, nothing transparent. The style is inspired by children’s fashion, with spots, bows, etc.” Morin also said she is “extremely surprised by the current uproar.”

I am by no means a prude, or even conservative in the least. But there is something so wrong about this to me. I can see where she’s coming from in wanting to create things that are nice to wear say, beyond fruit of the loom. But I think the marketing of it is what’s really disturbing to me.

For me, I think there is something to be said for holding onto your little girl panties as long as you possibly can. And there seems to be an imminent death of the child-like innocence we all long for in ad campaigns like this.

Ultimately I don’t think I would argue the line itself nearly as much as I am now if their means of communicating the items were different. Instead of using models if they used cute settings like mom hanging the laundry out or a little girl’s closet with all of her precious lingerie in it, perhaps there would be less to argue.

In this case ,they chose to make already racy intimates even racier by donning them on teenie little models.

I think that there’s something exciting about growing up and coming of age and having your mother take you to the lingerie store for your first experience anyhow. I think the whole point of lingerie being notable is usually suggesting it’s going to be seen and let’s be honest, do we really want to convey that message to the youth?

My overall vote is a big N.O. But I’d love to hear what you have to say.

Elisa Bronstein

Fashionista Extraordinaire

Tweet me, @elisabronstein

Follow me on FB: Raspberri Elisa

See my own designs here: https://www.facebook.com/549Design

Leave a Reply

