Movie Review for Tim and Eric’s Billion Dollar Movie


I’ll start off by saying that this was the first thing I had ever watched that was made by Tim and Eric, and you can be the judge on whether or not that matters. To get onto the movie…

The movie features Tim and Eric (clearly) as they try to get a billion dollars by starting up a mall. With stars like Will Ferrel and John C. Reiley, we watch as Tim and Eric slowly turn the ruined Swallow Valley mall into a thriving one that will hopefully lead them to the billion dollar fortune that they plan to get. From a total Tim and Eric novice, I found the movie enjoyable and that was about it. It was easy enough to watch, with non-stop humor that definitely got laughs, but it was clear that at some points it was far too much. It was an overload of comedy that is funny once, but in rapid succession it can easily lose its true humor. I felt myself laughing less and less as it got farther and farther, and by the end I was fairly done with it.

The comedy was clearly twisted, and would not be enjoyed by everyone. If you know you like, crude, uncomfortable, and somewhat disgusting humor, then you will probably enjoy the entirety of the film. As previously mentioned, I can only take a little bit of it at a time, otherwise I just get bored. There were many points that many people would probably see as overkill, but I did not mind it. This is one of those movies that it is really going to be geared toward a specific person. If you like the humor, you will probably like the movie. If you are like me, and like it in increments, the movie is enjoyable, but gets old fairly quickly. If you hate it, you will hate the movie, which I think is completely understandable.

As a movie, I give it about a 6 out of 10 due to the fact that I felt like it was slowly slipping away from me with every passing minute. I was lucky enough to watch it with a friend, and therefore I did not have to pay for the movie itself. I will not end up purchasing this movie, seeing as I got bored with it the first time around, but hey, that really is me. I think it is absolutely watching this movie once, especially if you are a Tim and Eric fan to begin with, but as for re-watch value, I do not think I could make myself sit through it again. I hate saying this about films, but it really is up to the viewer. My best advice is to start it and see what you think. You will know right off whether or not it is for you.

By Toby Gray

Leave a Reply

