Labyrinth Review


Somehow I have been getting sucked into watching a ton of ’80s movies recently, so that’s where this review is coming from. A majority of the people that I watched it with and never seen it, and I thought it was well known by pretty much everyone. I was wrong, clearly. That led me to wonder who else hasn’t seen it, so I figured I would spread the word about it. For those of you who have seen it, enjoy it over again, and for those who have not, give it a go! I think that as long as you have the right mindset for the movie, you will have a good time.

The story starts with a teenage girl played by Jennifer Connelly, and her feelings toward her father’s wife and child. From there, and I will leave out just how it happens, we move into the Labyrinth itself. At the center of the labyrinth lies the goblin’s castle, ruled by the goblin king (David Bowie). Sarah (Connelly) has 13 hours to get through the labyrinth to find her baby brother before he becomes a goblin. To do this, she must get through riddles, deceptions, illusions and mysterious creatures with only small help. They all have wonderful 80’s costumes and hair, and they all warrant a laugh. I’m not exactly sure if I would call this a “good movie” but I definitely recommend watching it.

 

It’s a children’s movie for sure, but anyone with any amount of imagination can enjoy it. Laced with random yet enjoyable songs, Labyrinth always offers up a good time. The acting may be poor, the writing may be goofy, but what would you expect? It’s an 80’s movie starring David Bowie! Enjoy it and you will love it! I cannot stress that piece enough. Just go into it looking for a good time, and it will be.

 

Feel free to recommend movies for me to review as well. Old ones, ones that are going to come out in theaters and you’re just not sure whether to go see it or not. I’ll see what I can do to get back to you!

 

By Toby Gray

Leave a Reply

