Top Ten Live Rock Performances #4 AFI Pre “Sing The Sorrow”


By Ryan Whitfield

    AFI has been around nearly 20 years now. They are my all time favorite band from the mid 90’s Albums all the way up to “Crash Love” and whatever the future holds. For all the Real AFI fans you know the last two albums are a different AFI than the band that put out everything up to “The Art of Drowning”. 2003’s “Sing The Sorrow” is an era of the band all it’s own, and actually my favorite album. I digress. The old AFI was a gothic hardcore band extremely influenced by The Misfits and The Joy Division. This spot on the countdown is dedicated to that time of the band. AFI is still the best band I’ve ever seen live. Unfortunately at only 23 I got into AFI when I was 14 in 2003, the year “Sing The Sorrow” came out. With that said I obviously never some them live back in this era of the bands history. However I’ve been to enough shows, seen all of the videos, and love the old stuff to appreciate how amazing it truly must have been. Here is a sampling of some of the best, and don’t be surprised to see the later days in the top 3.

Leave a comment